What Are Michigans Auto Insurance Requirements?
Michigan auto insurance requirements dictate that drivers in this state must have a minimum coverage of 20/40/10. A 20/40/10 coverage means that the insurer pays an injured party up to $20,000 for a single injury, $40,000 for all injuries, and $10,000 for property damage in the case of an accident. This minimum level of coverage is required for all drivers operating a vehicle in Michigan.
Not only must residents have minimum car insurance coverage, but they must also carry proof of that coverage any time they are driving. This proof usually comes in the form of an insurance card, which is usually provided by one’s insurer after paying the premium. A driver without proper proof of insurance, upon being stopped by a law enforcement officer, may face stiff fines and other penalties.
Michigan auto insurance requirements also include protection from uninsured drivers. No-Fault Insurance means that, in the event of accidents, your insurer will cover your medical expenses up to a certain limit regardless of fault, but you must carry the coverage. Michigan also requires uninsured motorist coverage, so if you are hit by a driver who does not have car insurance, you can still be covered.
Another important requirement in Michigan is Personal Injury Protection (PIP). This coverage provides compensation for medical bills like those mentioned with no-fault insurance, as well as compensation for lost wages and replacement services. PIP coverage is required and must include a minimum coverage of $500,000. This ensures that those injured in an accident are provided with ample protection no matter what.
Michigan joined the majority of states in the US and enacted awhile-a-week distracted driving law. It is no longer permitted to text or use any electronic device while driving. Additionally, there is an increase in the amount of steep fines for those who fail to follow these laws. Drivers should also be aware of cell phone laws, as the state bans texting and handheld cell phone use while driving.
Michigan does not require drivers to have collision and comprehensive coverage, but this kind of protection is recommended to cover the cost of repairs in case you are in an accident. Property damage liability coverage, which covers damage to the other drivers vehicle, is also required alongside the bodily injury protection.
Of course, paying attention to the safety of other drivers is key to avoiding accidents; you should always obey the speed limit, use turn signals when turning, make sure to keep at least two car lengths between you and other vehicles, and watch out for pedestrians. The laws of Michigan state that you must always yield to pedestrians in crosswalks or anywhere they have the right of way.
There are also several other safety requirements, including the use of child safety restraints in vehicles and a vehicle equipment safety inspection, which is a form of self-certification that one’s vehicle is in safe running condition. One must also remember to obey the traffic signs or face fines. Therefore, it is important to familiarize yourself with the rules of the road to avoid any penalties.
Michigan auto insurance requirements can be confusing, but understanding and meeting them will ensure that you are able to operate a vehicle in the state without fear of legal repercussions. These laws are in place to keep drivers and other motorists safe, so it is extremely important to become familiar with them.
What are some other auto coverage options?
In addition to the required no-fault, uninsured motorist, PIP, property damage liability, and collision and comprehensive coverage, Michigan drivers may also choose to add additional coverage options. These include broad form insurance, rental reimbursement, assistance for towing charges, personal property coverage, and custom parts and equipment coverage. These additions can help give drivers peace of mind knowing that their vehicles are covered should an emergency arise.
What is the impact of distracted driving?
Distracted driving has serious consequences and can, unfortunately, cause horrific accidents, adding untold stress and emotional pain that cannot be measured in money. The cost of a fine, or something more severe, such as suspension of ones license, may pale in comparison to the emotional and financial costs of harm done to someone else due to distracted driving. Ensuring safety for everyone on the road is a must, and that means removing distractions while operating your vehicle and remembering to drive defensively at all times.
How does Michigan compare to other states?
Most states have very similar insurance requirements, with Michigan being one of the few to require no-fault and uninsured motorist coverage. Michigan also takes this a step further by requiring motorists to carry proof of insurance whenever they are driving. Another way in which Michigan differs is in regards to its distracted driving laws; Michigan is one of 15 states and the District of Columbia to ban all cell-phone use while driving, making it one of the strictest states when it comes to distracted driving laws.
Are there any discounts available?
Yes, there are numerous discounts available in Michigan. Drivers in this state can get discounts on their premium from ones insurers such as good driver discounts, good student discounts, packages discounts, claim free driving discounts, and multi-policy discounts. Other discounts may be available as well depending on a drivers particular situation.
What can one do to lower premium costs?
The simplest way to lower your premiums in Michigan is to shop around for the best premium possible. Comparing rates from different insurers can help, as well as paying attention to the coverage limits and amounts. Raising the deductibles can also decrease the premiums; the higher the deductibles, the lower your payments. Increasing safety measures like installing anti-theft devices and taking driver’s safety courses may also be beneficial to your pocketbook.
Can I pay my premium in full ?
Yes, you can pay your premium in full in Michigan. Paying in full can help to save on certain fees and may even qualify for discounts, so it is worth inquiring about this option from your insurer. Additionally, setting up an automatic payment plan can make the process of paying the premium easier, eliminating the need to worry about the payments each month.
What Are Michigan’s Vehicle Title and Registration Requirements?
When buying or selling a car in Michigan, the title must be transferred to the vehicles new owner. You must take the title to the Secretary of States office when the ownership is being transferred.
To get your vehicle registered and titled in Michigan, you will also need a valid drivers license, proof of insurance, an Application for Michigan Vehicle Title (TR-11L), a completed Title Application (TR-11) form, and your vehicles proof of purchase. If the vehicle has been previously titled in another state, you must surrender the original title to the Michigan Secretary of State office.
There are certain vehicle tax rates applicable in Michigan. For example, the vehicle registration fees vary depending upon the type and weight of the vehicle. For new vehicles, purchasers must pay 6 percent of the vehicles Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price. Michigan residents must also pay a Personal Property Tax, which is based on the vehicles taxable value.
What are Michigan’s safety requirements for vehicles?
Michigan requires drivers to take proper care of their vehicles as well as follow safety requirements to maintain the vehicles roadworthiness. All drivers must have their vehicles inspected for mechanical and safety issues at least every two years. The cost of inspection must be paid to the Michigan Secretary of State.
In addition, Michigan law requires all cars and light-duty pick-up trucks to have a functioning horn, brakes, headlights, tail lights, turn signals, and side mirrors. It also mandates that vehicles have safe tires, windshield wipers, and safety glass on all of the windows.
Michigan also requires all vehicles to have a backup lamp installed near the center of the rear of the car. If the vehicle lacks a certain safety requirement, the owner may be fined. Also, all motorcyclists and operators of mopeds must wear protective helmets.
To ensure the safety of occupants as well as the safety of all other motorists on the roads of Michigan, it is mandatory to wear seat belts and child safety restraints for any minor occupants. Drivers caught not wearing their seat belts may face fines.
Can I register my car before I buy auto insurance?
No, you cannot register your car before you buy auto insurance in Michigan. You must purchase auto insurance before you register your vehicle, as proof of insurance is required to register your car. Be sure to read all of the documents and the insurance policy thoroughly before purchasing. Once you have proof of insurance, you can then proceed with registering your vehicle.